Like a bird I flew away

Nelly Furtado told me when I was 10 years old I was like a bird. I’ll only fly away. Currently this would be correct. The thing she forgot to mention… those bird they come back at some point. Sir David Attenborough taught me so. Or at least he taught me something about animal migration patterns, even if I don’t really remember which animal to which he was referring. What I’m trying to say here is that she taught me to fly away, he taught me at some point it will be ok to go home. Two sides of the same coin and what not. One day I am sure to go home. Just not quite yet.

Approximately 18 months ago I flew away, all the way to London. Away from my home town in Aotearoa, the Land of the Long White Cloud, or if you are not a Kiwi, the land you most probably know as New Zealand. Not the land of Hobbits. Hobbits are not real. And I’m 5 ft 9. Before I moved away anyone I know would have told you I was moving, they wouldn’t have been able to tell you where or when, just that I was going. It was known. It was the threat I used on my parents in every angsty teenage argument. I was leaving. Not coming back. And they would never see me again. As an FYI, I miss them like crazy, will be seeing my mum in 4 months time and am desperate for a hug. Homesickness sucks.

DSCF3096
Cape Reinga, where the Tasman Sea and Pacific Ocean meet

When I was 22, not long after I finished university and started my first full time job, I went on a road trip to the very top of New Zealand, to Cape Reinga. Where two oceans – the Tasman Sea and the Pacific Ocean, meet and crash against each other. Opposing forces, which I think is one of Newton’s Laws. An apt metaphor for the desire to leave while equally wishing to go back. As I stood at the tip of my small country at the very bottom of the world I dreamed of going beyond the blue expanse that was all I could see, to discover the great beyond. Yea I was feeling 22.

At 25 I left a life at home behind that I didn’t quite appreciate at the time. I didn’t see it for how great it was, I was always dissatisfied and wanting more. I am so like Belle, but Auckland is no provincial town. You can drink the water there. They have wifi. And it’s even fibre optic. I now know for sure I will return, once I’ve experienced everything the rest of the world has to offer.

I’ve started this blog as a record, as I continue to navigate life in London. But also to share my experiences and perspective on all manner of things. From the dumplings and cake I love at Broadway and Netil Markets in east London to the art and history I studied for so long from so far away which is now at my finger tips. Whether it is a short tube ride away from my house or a few hours by plane, train, bus or car. With all other manner of things in between that take my fancy. I’m eclectic and irrational so you have been warned. This blog could end up being one big rainbow cake.

But we all love rainbow cake. Don’t pretend you don’t!

Leave a Reply

